Leftovers for Breakfast: Mexican Egg

Posted: February 17, 2012 in Breakfast
Tags: , , , , , ,

Mexican Egg Breakfast with Ground TurkeyLast night, we had a big taco salad (minus the shell of course!) so this morning I had a little bit of leftover seasoned ground turkey to use.  By the way, I’ve known that cumin and chili powder are essential to making the “Mexican” flavor in dishes, but I only just recently figured out a third secret ingredient that turns your homemade taco seasoning from close enough to perfect: oregano!  I rarely measure spices (those little teaspoon and tablespoon measuring cups are a pain to wash), but below is the basic recipe I’m using in my head when I’m dumping my homemade taco seasoning ingredients on my cooking meat.

Bare Basics Taco Seasoning
  • Four parts chili powder
  • Two parts ground cumin seed
  • 1/2 part dried oregano
Comments
  1. […] Leftovers for Breakfast: Mexican Egg […]

Leave a Reply

