Who Needs Steak Sauce When You have Blue Herb Butter?

Posted: March 19, 2012 in Dinner
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Blue Cheese Rosemary Garlic Butter on Steak

I cooked my first Grass Fed Steak – A Flat Iron from La Cense Beef – for dinner tonight.  The flavor is a little bit milder than grain-fed beef, which is OK, but what I really liked was the difference in texture.  It absolutely still has the texture of beef, but it’s more delicate.  And the fat in it isn’t so chewy and fatty.  It’s more like an integrated and flavorful part of the beef cut.  I’m happy.

Paleo Flat Iron Steak

But the point of this post isn’t so much about the beef, because I need a little more practice before I gain the hubris to give you all advice on how to properly cook your steak.  🙂  The point is this delicious Steak Butter!  No, it’s not strict Paleo.  But it’s OK with My Personal Paleo Plan.

Soften one tablespoon of butter (for two servings) in the microwave – about 20 seconds.  Add finely chopped herbs (I used rosemary), a finely chopped small garlic clove, and two teaspoons or more stinky cheese.  I had to split the butter into two cups before adding the cheese.  My cup got blue cheese crumbles, and my blue cheese hater got Parmesan cheese in his cup.  Then just fold your ingredients into the butter, and spoon onto your steak just before serving.

PS: Those mashed potatoes in the background are actually mashed cauliflower.  I’m still working out a good recipe for that though too… so far, every time I make it, I’ve added way too much garlic or some other overwhelming flavor.  I’ll figure it out eventually.

Comments
  1. Kay says:

    Oh yes, I agree. It sounds delicious. I can’t wait to visit and have you cook for me.

Leave a Reply

