Paleo Chili with a Poblano Pepper Spoon

Posted: April 2, 2012 in Dinner, Lunch
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Natural Edible Spoon Poblano Pepper Chili

OMG, how fun is this!?!  I had two poblano peppers to chop up and add to my chili, but I only did that with one of them because as soon as I cut the first one in half, a natural edible spoon appeared!

Meat and Onions

Sadly not grass fed ground beef… but it’s not the end of the world.  I do what I can, but I’m not made of money and my freezer has limited space.

Makin Chili

Simple Paleo Chili Recipe:

  1. 1lb ground beef
  2. 3 cans diced tomatoes
  3. 1 onion
  4. 1 fresh pepper (I used poblano, but you can use a bell pepper.  whatever.)
  5. 3 garlic cloves
  6. fistful of baby spinach
  7. 1 can mushrooms
  8. chili spices (oregano, chili powder, cumin seed)
  9. ground cayenne pepper for extra spiciness!
  10. an extra poblano pepper will make two spoons for your chili!

Bacon ChopsticksIf you want to add bacon to your chili recipe (I did!) be sure to cook it until it’s crispy first.  Nobody wants soggy chewy bacon in their chili.  Also, if you’re handy with chopsticks, they are the ultimate bacon-flipping tool.  If you’re not handy with chopsticks though, stick to the fork or whatever you use.  Over a sizzling pan of hot bacon grease is not the place to practice using chopsticks!

baby spinach in chili

I add a fistful of baby spinach to every soup I make.  Canned or frozen spinach tastes horrible, but fresh organic baby spinach tastes either good (like in a salad) or like nothing at all (in flavorful soups like chili).

chili secret ingredient

Should I add a tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder to my chili?  Why the hell not.  I’m feeling dangerous today!

Natural Edible Spoon Poblano Pepper Chili

And finally, no good Paleo Chili is complete without a little guacamole on top.  I haven’t made my own guac yet… I usually just buy these Wholly Guacamole 100 calorie packs from WalMart.  The ingredients are good, and they’re such a convenient size!  Dig in!

Leave a Reply

