Grilled Paleo Cumin Salsa Chicken Leg Dinner Plate

Posted: May 19, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Paleo Chicken Leg Dinner Plate

I’m still working on the best way to organize this blog… it’s a tougher thing to figure out than you’d think.  I might create a page of links to photos of my full dinner plates because one of the challenges I’ve run into with eating paleo is deciding on side dishes.  One meat and one vegetable on a plate is a totally decent simple paleo dinner, and that’s what we end up with pretty often here when I’m low on time, but what I’m really talking about is finding ways to provide a wider variety of textures, flavors, and colors to accompany that piece of delicious meat.  Like this Grilled Paleo Cumin Salsa Chicken Leg Dinner Plate.  🙂  Not bad, right?

Paleo Chicken Leg Dinner Plate

The grilled chicken is seasoned with generous amounts of cumin, chili powder, and oregano – no salt.  I’m trying to take it easy on the salt here lately.  The broccoli is frozen and microwave steamed with a little fresh grated Parmesan cheese (not exactly Paleo, but not the end of the world either).  The salad dressing is one part homemade ranch dressing mixed with two parts hot fire roasted salsa.  Add 1/4 avocado and a couple carrots from the farmers’ market, and it’s a full plate!

Paleo Chicken Leg Dinner PlateSpeaking of the farmers’ market, last Saturday was our little town’s seasonal grand opening of the summer farmers’ market!  I’m going to bed soon so I can get up nice and early… I don’t want the vendors to run out of the good stuff before I show up!  Last week, I brought home lots of lettuce, beet leaves (beets are gross but the leaves are good in a mixed salad), strawberries, tomatoes, pistachios, a dozen eggs, and a fistful of chives.  I’m excited to see what will be there tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

